After 10 years of Renuo we look back on many exciting projects and big challenges. In the last few years, we have not only gained many new clients, but have also made great friends with many of them. Today Renuo has over 50 clients and 16 employees. We are excited to see where the journey will take us in the next 10 years and look forward to breaking new ground together with you.

The highlights of the last 10 years


2011

Diego and Lukas found Renuo during their studies at HSR in summer 2011. Unlike many other development companies, they rely on the agile project method Scrum and thus create a unique selling point on the market. First customer is the cashback portal 'Shariando' (Verbandspool AG, now called rewardo). By the way: One of them is cheating a bit with his height on the picture... Who that might be?!

2012

Classic start-up life! Initially, Diego and Lukas did not have an office of their own and sometimes worked on the floor at ETH – how professional! Of course, that didn’t stop them from getting a second customer.

2013

The studies demand a lot, but the orders increase. At Shariando, their first customer, personnel changes are on the horizon. Lukas and Diego seize the opportunity and try to win Samuel from Shariando over. He is so enthusiastic about Renuo that he changes sides right away! At the same time, the team is expanded with Ueli to reduce the workload of Diego and Lukas.

2014

In 2014 the team grows with the two software engineers Josua and Alessandro. The Backstreet Boys are now complete!

2014

In summer, Nicolas and Cyril start their one-year IMS internship at Renuo. In doing so, they pave the way for 15 more IMS interns to date. But before Cyril’s and Nicolas’ internship is about software, the right hardware has to be created...

2014

...because finally the time has come! Renuo moves into its first own office at Industriestrasse in Wallisellen, which is set up by the whole team with a lot of craftsmanship.

2014

Many guests come to the office inauguration and it is celebrated until late hours!

2015

In 2015 we hire two new IT interns with Zora and Patrik and with Amina, Roger and Simon a marketing specialist and two more software engineers join the team. Here you can see us in a very unposed work situation! From left to right: Roger, Amina, Samuel, Cyril, Lukas, Simon, Zora, Diego, Nicolas, Josua, Alessandro and Patrik.

2015

In the fall, we will embark on a one-week professional development trip to Sicily. This will be the first so-called Learning Week, which we will organize every year from then on. The fact that many of us organize continuing education courses in the Pfadi certainly has no influence on this.

2015

The focus of the Learning Week is learning new technologies...

2015

...but in between there should also be time for some fun and team building like here on Mount Etna.

2016

In 2016 we welcome four new employees and one new IT intern: Richard, Martin, Matthias, Stéphane and Alicia are quickly settling in with us. In summer, Benjamin, Felix and Pascal start their one-year IMS internship and Alyssa her one-year HMS internship. Renuo is now no longer a limited liability company but a corporation with Diego, Lukas, Samuel and soon Alessandro and Josua as partners.

2016

In 2016 we celebrate our 5th anniversary! From the small start-up, we have meanwhile become a medium-sized company.

2016

Yes, we are nerds and we stand by the fact that we do typical nerd stuff from time to time! Here you can see us at laser tag during the 5 years Renuo celebration. :)

2016

For us, the exchange with the Swiss developer community is very important. Since 2015, we organize several meetups every year, where we exchange ideas about technical topics like TypeScript or Ruby on Rails. Here we see Martin during a presentation at the Rails Höck.

2016

Our second Learning Week takes place in Lisbon, where for once we don’t just go digital surfing and take some (nightly) trips into the city....

2016

Of course, we are in Portugal for more than just fun. Here you can see us working.

2017

In 2017 Emily starts as a software engineer as well as the project manager Kerstin and the accountant Madeleine with us. Likewise, we welcome three new IMS interns this summer: Lukas, Denis and Sebastian will soon be part of the team.

2017

In autumn, the first big Renuo Get-together takes place. Under the motto Bitcoin and Wine, guests are introduced to the secrets of blockchains and bitcoins.

2017

Our get-together is such a success that we are invited to attend several high-profile events as external blockchain professionals. Here we see Samuel giving a presentation for swissstaffing.

2017

The third Learning Week takes us to Lake Como.

2017

Like every year, we come up with something special for our Christmas event. Here we first visited the Urania observatory and then hiked up to the Uetliberg, where a romantic view over the city awaits us with an aperitif by the fire and later a delicious fondue dinner.

2017

But first we have to earn the view and dinner – with a steep climb in deep snow. After all, it would be boring to take the maintained winter trails up the mountain. ;)

2017

Richard stays motivated, even if he has to pull Amina up the mountain, so to speak.

2017

Madeleine is visibly happy to have the climb behind her.

2018

In 2018 Eduard and Lionel start their one-year IMS internship with us. Here you can see a spontaneous snapshot of us walking in the green. From left to right: Lukas, Eduard, Pascal, Alessandro, Lionel, Samuel, Cyril, Josua, Patrik, Simon, Martin and Amina.

2018

In La Bresse, a small commune in northeastern France, we spend our fourth Learning Week. Although not at all planned, our focus evolves more and more towards Artificial Intelligence as the week progresses, setting the starting point for one of our new competencies.

2018

The large house where we spend our week has plenty of space. Here we see Alessandro and Martin programming from the comfort of their sofa.

2018

Josua, Lionel, Lukas and Eduard delve into new technologies in the afternoon before we cook culinary delights in small teams in the evening.

2018

Martin has had enough of French specialties and finally wants to go out for pizza!

2019

The highlight of 2019 will be the launch of City Messenger – our first major product of our own. The app connects businesses with the residents of a city and enables quick and easy communication between the two. Shortly after the go-live, the first participating city, St. Gallen, already counts over 5'000 app downloads and over 70 participating businesses.

2019

Thanks to Lionel, we have been organizing a Veggie Week once a year since 2019. During this week, we all eat strictly vegetarian from morning to night: a small step for humanity, but a big one for us.

2019

In summer, our team grows with two new IMS interns, Simon and Philip.

2019

At Martin’s request – because he misses French food so much – we also spend our fifth Learning Week with our neighbors, this time in beautiful Colmar.

2019

Development work can also be dangerous, and a helmet is therefore always mandatory with us! – Of course not! Here we are just visiting the recycling yard Hagenholz and learn a lot of interesting things about our waste and consumption. Afterwards, we let the day end with a joint dinner.

2019

To stay in touch with our former work friends, maintain our network and learn about new technology trends, we organize an annual Renuo alumni event with all former employees. Here are some impressions of the 2019 event.

2019

Alyssa and Amina enjoy the reunion.

2019

Richard, Simon, Josua, Matthias and Samuel are having a great time. No, the red wine certainly has nothing to do with it!

2019

Lukas, Alessandro and Nicolas have a lot to talk about.

2020

At the beginning of 2020 we welcome Nathalie in the team, who will take care of accounting and administration from then on. Furthermore Nick and Janis start their IMS internship with us.Unfortunately we see each other mostly only via webcam or with hygiene masks!

2020

The second Renuo Get-together takes place on the topic of Artificial Intelligence. Our three top panelists discuss possible dangers and opportunities in a packed room.

2020

Fortunately, the Get-together takes place just before the lockdown! Seeing so many people in a room without a mask is unimaginable today, isn’t it?!

2021

At the beginning of 2021, Jllario joins us, in Business Development and Online Marketing. The whole team will continue to work mostly in home office. Here you can see us on Microsoft Teams. From top left to bottom right: Pascal, Philip, Simon, Nathalie, Jllario, Josua, Janis, Nick, Samuel, Amina, Martin and Alessandro. Nick is telling us a funny story, but two are not listening, guess who?!

10 years Renuo celebration: Save the date

On September 17 our big anniversary party will take place in Zurich with delicious food, good wine, funny anecdotes and much more.

When: On September 17, 2021 17:00 (Presentation from futurologist Lars Thomsen) or from 18:00 onwards (celebration only)
Where: Daizy, Räffelstrasse 28, 8045 Zürich (5 minutes by foot from the train station Zürich Binz)

Sign up for the event and mark the date in your calendar.

Nach 10 Jahren Renuo blicken wir heute auf viele spannende Projekte und grosse Herausforderungen zurück. Wir konnten in den letzten Jahren nicht nur viele neue Kund*innen gewinnen, sondern mit vielen auch tolle Freundschaften schliessen. Heute zählt die Renuo über 50 Kund*innen und 16 Mitarbeitende. Wir sind gespannt, wo uns die Reise in den nächsten 10 Jahren hinführt und freuen uns, zusammen mit Ihnen diese neuen Wege zu beschreiten.

Die Highlights der letzten 10 Jahre


2011

Diego und Lukas gründen während ihres Studiums an der HSR im Sommer 2011 die Renuo. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Entwicklungsfirmen setzen sie auf die agile Projektmethode Scrum und schaffen damit ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal auf dem Markt. Ihr erster Kunde ist das Cashback-Portal 'Shariando' (Verbandspool AG, heute rewardo). Übrigens: Einer der beiden schummelt hier auf dem Bild ein bisschen mit seiner Körpergrösse... Wer das wohl sein mag?!

2012

Typisch Start-up! Auch Diego und Lukas verfügen anfänglich noch über kein eigenes Büro und arbeiten auch mal ganz professionell am Boden in der ETH. Dennoch hält sie das nicht davon ab, einen nächsten Kunden zu gewinnen.

2013

Das Studium fordert viel ab und die Aufträge nehmen zu. Bei Shariando, ihrem ersten Kunden, zeichnen sich personelle Änderungen ab. Lukas und Diego packen die Chance und versuchen, Samuel für sich zu gewinnen. Als erster Kunde ist dieser von der Renuo so begeistert, dass er die Seiten sofort wechselt! Gleichzeitig wird mit Ueli das Team erweitert, um Diego und Lukas zu entlasten.

2014

2014 wächst das Team um die beiden Software Ingenieure Josua und Alessandro. Die Backstreet Boys sind nun komplett!

2014

Im Sommer starten Nicolas und Cyril ihr einjähriges IMS-Praktikum bei der Renuo. Damit ebnen sie den Weg für bis heute 15 weitere IMS-Praktikant*innen. Doch bevor sich Cyrils und Nicolas' Praktikum um Software dreht, muss die richtige Hardware dafür geschaffen werden...

2014

...denn endlich ist es so weit! Die Renuo bezieht ihr erstes, eigenes Büro an der Industriestrasse in Wallisellen, das mit viel handwerklichem Geschick vom ganzen Team aufgebaut wird.

2014

Zur Büroeinweihung kommen viele Gäste und es wird gefeiert bis in die späten Stunden!

2015

2015 stellen wir mit Zora und Patrik zwei neue IT Praktikant*innen und mit Amina, Roger und Simon eine Marketing Spezialistin und zwei weitere Software Ingenieure ein. Hier seht ihr uns in einer ganz ungestellten Arbeitssituation! Von links nach rechts: Roger, Amina, Samuel, Cyril, Lukas, Simon, Zora, Diego, Nicolas, Josua, Alessandro und Patrik.

2015

Im Herbst begeben wir uns auf eine einwöchige Weiterbildungsreise nach Sizilien. Dies wird die erste sogenannte Learning Week, die wir ab dann jedes Jahr organisieren. Dass viele von uns in der Pfadi Weiterbildungskurse organisieren, hat darauf sicherlich keinen Einfluss.

2015

Im Fokus der Learning Week steht das Erlernen neuer Technologien...

2015

...aber zwischendurch soll auch Zeit bleiben für etwas Spass und Teambildung wie hier auf dem Ätna.

2016

2016 heissen wir vier neue Mitarbeitende und eine neue IT-Praktikantin willkommen: Richard, Martin, Matthias, Stéphane und Alicia leben sich rasch bei uns ein. Im Sommer beginnen Benjamin, Felix und Pascal ihr einjähriges IMS-Praktikum und Alyssa ihr einjähriges HMS-Praktikum. Die Renuo ist nun keine GmbH mehr, sondern eine Aktiengesellschaft mit Diego, Lukas, Samuel und bald auch Alessandro und Josua als Partner.

2016

2016 feiern wir unser 5-jähriges Jubiläum! Aus dem kleinen Start-up ist unterdessen ein mittelgrosses Unternehmen geworden.

2016

Ja, wir sind Nerds und wir stehen dazu, dass wir ab und zu typischen Nerd-Stuff unternehmen! Hier seht ihr uns beim Laser Tag während der 5 Jahre Renuo Feier. :)

2016

Für uns ist der Austausch mit der Schweizer Entwickler-Community sehr wichtig. Seit 2015 organisieren wir jährlich mehrere Meetups, an denen wir uns über technische Themen wie TypeScript oder Ruby on Rails austauschen. Hier sehen wir Martin während einer Präsentation am Rails Höck.

2016

Unsere zweite Learning Week findet in Lissabon statt, wo wir für einmal nicht nur digital surfen gehen und einige (nächtliche) Ausflüge in die Stadt unternehmen...

2016

Selbstverständlich sind wir in Portugal aber nicht nur zum Spass. Hier seht ihr uns beim Arbeiten.

2017

2017 startet Emily als Software Ingenieurin sowie die Projektleiterin Kerstin und die Buchhalterin Madeleine bei uns. Ebenso begrüssen wir im Sommer drei neue IMS-Praktikanten: Lukas, Denis und Sebastian gehören bald fest zum Team.

2017

Im Herbst findet das erste grosse Renuo Get-together statt. Unter dem Motto Bitcoin and Wine werden die Gäste in die Geheimnisse der Blockchain und Bitcoins eingeweiht.

2017

Unser Get-together ist ein solcher Erfolg, dass wir darauf als externe Blockchain-Profis zu mehreren hochkarätigen Veranstaltungen geladen werden. Hier sehen wir Samuel bei einer Präsentation für swissstaffing.

2017

Die dritte Learning Week führt uns an den Comer See.

2017

Wie jedes Jahr lassen wir uns auch in diesem Jahr etwas Spezielles für unseren Weihnachtsevent einfallen. Hier besuchten wir erst die Urania-Sternwarte und wanderten anschliessend auf den Uetliberg, wo uns bei einer romantischen Sicht über die Stadt ein Apéro am Feuer und später ein leckeres Fondueessen erwarteten.

2017

Doch die Aussicht und das Abendessen müssen wir uns erst verdienen – bei einem steilen Aufstieg im Tiefschnee. Schliesslich wäre es langweilig, die unterhaltenen Winterwege den Berg hinauf zu nehmen. ;)

2017

Richard bleibt motiviert, auch wenn er Amina sozusagen den Berg hochziehen muss.

2017

Madeleine ist sichtlich happy, den Aufstieg hinter sich zu haben.

2018

2018 starten Eduard und Lionel ihr einjähriges IMS-Praktikum bei uns. Hier seht ihr einen spontanen Schnappschuss von uns beim Spazieren im Grünen. Von links nach rechts: Lukas, Eduard, Pascal, Alessandro, Lionel, Samuel, Cyril, Josua, Patrik, Simon, Martin und Amina.

2018

In La Bresse, einer kleinen Gemeinde in Nordostfrankreich, verbringen wir unsere vierte Learning Week. Obwohl gar nicht so geplant, entwickelt sich unser Fokus im Verlauf der Woche immer mehr auf Künstliche Intelligenz, womit der Startpunkt für eine unserer neuen Kompetenzen gelegt ist.

2018

Das grosse Haus, in dem wir unsere Woche verbringen, bietet viel Platz. Hier sehen wir, wie Alessandro und Martin bequem vom Sofa aus programmieren.

2018

Josua, Lionel, Lukas und Eduard vertiefen sich nachmittags in neue Technologien, bevor wir uns am Abend in kleinen Teams gegenseitig mit kulinarischen Leckerbissen bekochen.

2018

Martin hat genug von französischen Spezialitäten und will endlich Pizza essen gehen!

2019

Das Highlight von 2019 wird die Lancierung des City Messengers – unserem ersten grossen, eigenen Produkt. Die Applikation verbindet Geschäfte mit den Einwohner*innen einer Stadt und ermöglicht eine schnelle und unkomplizierte Kommunikation zwischen den beiden. Die erste teilnehmende Stadt, St. Gallen, zählt kurz nach dem Go-live bereits über 5’000 App-Downloads und über 70 teilnehmende Betriebe.

2019

Dank Lionel organisieren wir seit 2019 einmal jährlich eine Veggie Week. In dieser Woche ernähren wir uns alle von morgens bis abends strikt vegetarisch: Ein kleiner Schritt für die Menschheit, aber ein grosser für uns.

2019

Im Sommer wächst unser Team um die beiden neuen IMS-Praktikanten Simon und Philip.

2019

Auf Wunsch von Martin – weil er das französische Essen so vermisst – verbringen wir auch unsere fünfte Learning Week bei unseren Nachbarn, diesmal im schönen Colmar.

2019

Auch Entwicklungsarbeit kann gefährlich sein und ein Helm ist deshalb immer Pflicht bei uns! – Natürlich nicht! Hier besichtigen wir gerade den Recyclinghof Hagenholz und lernen viel Interessantes über unseren Abfall bzw. unseren Konsum. Anschliessend lassen wir den Tag bei einem gemeinsamen Abendessen ausklingen.

2019

Um in Kontakt mit unseren früheren Arbeitsfreunden zu bleiben, das Netzwerk zu pflegen und Neues über Technologie-Trends zu erfahren, organisieren wir jährlich eine Renuo-Alumni-Veranstaltung mit allen bisherigen Mitarbeitenden. Hier einige Impressionen des Events von 2019.

2019

Alyssa und Amina freuen sich über das Wiedersehen.

2019

Richard, Simon, Josua, Matthias und Samuel amüsieren sich prächtig. Nein, nein, der Rotwein hat damit sicher nichts zu tun!

2019

Lukas, Alessandro und Nicolas haben sich viel zu erzählen.

2020

Zu Beginn des Jahres 2020 begrüssen wir Nathalie im Team, die sich fortan um die Buchhaltung und Administration kümmert. Weiter beginnen Nick und Janis ihr IMS-Praktikum bei uns. Leider sehen wir uns meistens nur via Webcam oder mit Maske!

2020

Das zweite Renuo Get-together findet zum Thema Künstliche Intelligenz statt. Unsere drei top Podiumsgäste diskutieren im vollen Saal über mögliche Gefahren und Chancen.

2020

Glücklicherweise findet das Get-together gerade noch vor dem Lockdown statt! So viele Menschen in einem Raum ohne Maske zu sehen, ist heute unvorstellbar, nicht?!

2021

Anfangs 2021 ergänzt uns Jllario, im Bereich Business Development und Online Marketing. Das ganze Team arbeitet weiterhin mehrheitlich im Homeoffice. Hier seht ihr uns auf Microsoft Teams. Von links oben nach rechts unten: Pascal, Philip, Simon, Nathalie, Jllario, Josua, Janis, Nick, Samuel, Amina, Martin und Alessandro. Nick erzählt uns gerade eine witzige Geschichte, doch zwei hören nicht zu, wer wohl?!