Graubünden Ferien

The digital family platform with Gian and Giachen

Who does not know them, the two cult ibexes from Graubünden? The children's books about the adventures of Gian and Giachen are bestsellers and are in the living rooms of many Swiss families. In the Progressive Web App (PWA) "Kinderwelt" developed by us, the book pages are now brought to life and digitally animated with the help of artificial intelligence.

The lynchpin of the digital world is the animated mountain panorama: it enables the discovery of different places. Through the control by means of device movement as well as the built-in dolly zoom and parallax effect, the experience for children and adults is maximised. The panorama leads to the individual favourite places of Gian and Giachen: These include numerous sprite-based, interactive animations and audio files. The coordination of audio and animation is based on a specially created dialogue framework based on Typescript. So nothing stands in the way of an expansion for further locations or a spring version of the book!

graubuenden-ferien
graubuenden-ferien
graubuenden-ferien

The technical challenges

At the heart of the Grisons Children's World is the Machine Learning based scan function, which enables a seamless transition from book to platform. Using Deep Learning, scanned or photographed children's book pages (or excerpts thereof) are recognised and users are then guided to the corresponding animated book scene.

The decision for a Progressive Web App and against a native, mobile app was a conscious one: Users can use the highly compressed app offline and place it on their personal home screen. Despite the challenge of lacking support for PWA functionality on iOS, we managed to offer users an equivalent app experience thanks to clever user guidance.

The technical challenges we have faced in classifying images with TensorFlow are described in detail in this blog entry .

The creation, project and campaign lead in this project was with WIRZ Communication AG.

graubuenden-ferien

Technologies which we use

Progressive Web App (PWA)
Python
React
TypeScript
TensorFlow
Similar use cases

Graubünden Ferien

Die digitale Familienplattform mit Gian und Giachen

Wer kennt sie nicht, die beiden Kultsteinböcke aus Graubünden? Die Kinderbücher über die Abenteuer von Gian und Giachen sind Bestseller und stehen in den Wohnzimmern vieler Schweizer Familien. In der von uns entwickelten Progressive Web App «Kinderwelt» werden die Buchseiten nun mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz zum Leben erweckt und digital animiert.

Dreh- und Angelpunkt der digitalen Welt bildet das animierte Bergpanorama: Es ermöglicht das Entdecken verschiedener Orte. Durch die Steuerung mittels Gerätebewegung sowie dem eingebauten Dolly-Zoom und parallax Effekt wird das Erlebnis für Kinder und Erwachsene maximiert. Das Panorama leitet in die einzelnen Lieblingsorte von Gian und Giachen über: Diese beinhalten zahlreiche auf Sprites basierende, interaktive Animationen und Audiofiles. Die Abstimmung von Audio und Animation stützt sich dabei auf einem eigens erstelltes Dialog-Framework basierend auf Typescript. Einem Ausbau für weitere Orte oder einer Frühlings-Version des Buches steht somit nichts im Wege!

graubuenden-ferien
graubuenden-ferien
graubuenden-ferien

Die technischen Challenges

Das Herzstück der Graubünden-Kinderwelt bildet die auf Machine Learning basierte Scanfunktion, welche den nahtlosen Übergang vom Buch zur Plattform ermöglicht. Mittels Deep Learning werden gescannte oder fotografierte Kinderbuchseiten (oder Ausschnitte davon) erkannt und die User werden anschliessend auf die entsprechende, animierte Buchszene geführt.

Der Entscheid für eine Progressive Web App (PWA) und gegen eine native, mobile App haben wir bewusst getroffen: Die User können so die hochkomprimierte App auch offline nutzen und auf ihrem persönlichen Homescreen platzieren. Trotz der Herausforderung von fehlendem Support für PWA-Funktionalitäten auf iOS ist es uns dank geschickter Benutzerführung gelungen, den Usern eine gleichwertige App-Erfahrung zu bieten.

graubuenden-ferien

Technologien, die wir verwenden

TensorFlow
Progressive Web App (PWA)
TypeScript
React
Python
Ähnliche Use Cases